That One Casual Guy

From the Runetotem server comes a new kind of casual… a casual who cares, who understands the inner workings of the game and their classes… sort of. This casual has a name… and that name…

…is Xicon. Actually, that is one of my three names. Nazgûl (Blood Elf Death Knight), Eorlingas (Blood Elf Paladin), and Xicon (Undead Warlock). But to you kind readers I am Xicon.

Now I’m sure the first thing you notice when you look at my Armory pages is my fairly weak gear quality. I’m very clearly a casual player. Now those two words seem to set off alarms in the heads of most players these days. They are too often associated with “poor” and “scrub”. For fairly obvious reasons, naturally – casual players don’t normally take the time to read forums such as Elitist Jerks to maximize their damage, tanking or healing efficiency. In fact, many of them could hardly make a case for one stat over the other or explain their gear choices. A new day is dawning, however. And that day is the day when casuals will finally understand what things mean, how all these numbers affect that number under “Recount – DPS for Overall Data” or how this talent makes that boss attack you and only you.

That day is not today, however. Until then, I’m here to fill the void.

I play on the Runetotem (US) server on the Horde side. My first 80 (and as you can see, best geared) is my Death Knight. He was shortly followed by my paladin, and after faction transfers, warlock. I’ve played WoW since classic, and have always been thorough in reading high level material. I played my warlock for three years, and during the Burning Crusade was able to reach Tier 5 raiding (pre-nerf, though it means little) with my limited playtime. When Wrath launched, I forsook my Warlock to join the Horde with my Death Knight. I never looked back to the Alliance.

Once I hit 80 on my Death Knight, I coasted for a bit and did relatively little raiding. I operated under the BC-era delusion that raiding was very difficult and needed considerable amounts of Heroic and crafted gear to participate in. Of course, this was and remains to be false. When I was called in to a raid (against my wishes, I may add) it turned out I was putting out excellent numbers, barely under the top two damage dealers. Thus began my quest to reach the top of the meter.

Two 80’s later, I am still in the guild I started the Horde in. We’re a small casual guild who constantly receives new 80’s, and as such we have not quite progressed into Ulduar. But I don’t care. I’m casual, my fun comes from the game itself, not outdoing everyone else (see: 5100 Achievement Points). I still read Elitist Jerks on a daily basis, I am constantly consulted within my guild for gemming and gearing (for classes I don’t even play to boot) and am in a very good position for my playstyle.

So why the blog? Well, most of the blogs out there are from the hardcore perspective. I read “in my guild’s ToC 25 last night” more than I read anything else it seems. This blog, I hope, will serve as a beacon of light for casuals looking for information in an easy to understand format. I hope I can accomplish this feat.

Leave a comment

Filed under Interviews, Opinion, Raiding

Leave a Reply

